Upcoming Events:

The 21st Annual International Conference on Economics and Security

June 22-23, 2017
Brussels, Belgium

The 21st Annual International Conference on Economics and Security will be held at the Royal Military Academy, Brussels on 22nd - 23rd June 2017.

The conference aims to provide an opportunity for economists, political scientists and others from around the world to share ideas and discuss the future developments in the following areas:

Further information on the organisation of the conference will posted on the conference website soon.
If you would like to present a paper, please send a title and an abstract of maximum 300 words before 1st April 2017 to cindy.dubois@rma.ac.be


Disarm! For a Climate of Peace
Creating an Action Agenda
IPB World Congress 2016 on Military and Social Spending

September 30 – October 3, 2016 Technische Universitä t Berlin, Germäny

“The world is over-armed and peace is under-funded” -Ban Ki-moon
In 2014 the world’s governments spent over $1,700 billion on the militäry sector. The Congress organisers believe this money must instead be spent on:

-Climate change mitigation/adaptation, preserving biodiversity;
-Humanitarian programs to support the most vulnerable;
-Peace: disarmament, conflict prevention & resolution, human security;
-Public services/social justice, human rights, gender equality and green job-creation;
-Sustainable development, new production and consumption patterns, anti-poverty programs, UN Sustainable Development Goals.

We strongly believe the absolutely necessary ‘great transformation’ of global human society can only be achieved when also reallocating military expenditure and handling conflict differently. After all, we are facing a crisis of civilization, which is more far-reaching than an ecological and economic crisis alone.

We are living on one single Planet Earth but exploiting its resources as if we had three. We witness how our predominant economic and developmental model has failed to provide justice, livelihood and human security for all. We now also face the resurgence of militarism and confrontational politics.

Hence, we view this priority shift in government spending as one element in a much broader global transformation towards a green, socially just and peaceful society.

The main aim of this congress is to bring the issue of military spending, often seen as a technical question, into broad public debate and to strengthen the global community of activism.

Find out more here.